

# **News Release**

For Immediate Release

# Premier Akeeagok assigns new Cabinet portfolios

**Iqaluit, Nunavut (June 4, 2024)** – Today, Premier P.J. Akeeagok announced changes to Nunavut's Executive Council after Karen Nutarak resigned from Cabinet on June 4, 2024, due to personal and family reasons.

"I want to thank Karen Nutarak for her service as Minister of Justice and Minister responsible for Nunavut Arctic College, as she brought new energy and dynamism to our team," stated premier P.J. Akeeagok. "I wish Ms. Nutarak the best in her future endeavours and look forward to seeing her at the Legislative Assembly as she continues to serve the constituency of Tununiq."

Premier Akeeagok assigned the following new Cabinet portfolios effective June 4, 2024:

Minister Pamela Hakongak Gross remains Deputy Premier and Minister of Education, with the added responsibility of Minister of Human Resources and Minister responsible for the Workers' Safety and Compensation Commission.

Minister David Akeeagok remains Minister of Economic Development and Transportation and will take on the responsibilities of Minister of Justice, Minister responsible for Labour and Minister responsible for the Human Rights Tribunal.

Minister Margaret Nakashuk remains the Minister of Family Services, Minister responsible for Homelessness, Minister responsible for Status of Women, and Minister responsible for Poverty Reduction, and will take on the added role of Minister responsible for the Nunavut Arctic College.

A full list of Cabinet portfolios is appended to this release.

# **Media Contact:**

Sima Sahar Zerehi Chief of Strategic Operations Office of the Premier 867-975-5059 Szerehi6@gov.nu.ca

# **Nunavut Cabinet Portfolios**

### Hon. P.J. Akeeagok, Premier

Minister of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs
Minister of Indigenous Affairs

Minister responsible for Investigation

Minister responsible for Immigration

Minister responsible for the Utility Rates Review Council

Minister responsible for Seniors

## Hon. Pamela Gross, Deputy Premier

Minister of Education

Minister of Human Resources

Minister responsible for the Workers' Safety and Compensation Commission

#### Hon. Lorne Kusugak

Minister of Finance

Minister responsible for the Nunavut Housing Corporation

Minister responsible for the Nunavut Liquor and Cannabis Commission

Minister responsible for the Nunavut Liquor and Cannabis Board

#### Hon. David Akeeagok

Minister of Justice

Minister responsible for Labour

Minister responsible for Human Rights Tribunal

Minister of Economic Development and Transportation

Minister responsible for Nunavut Business Credit Corporation

Minister responsible for Nunavut Development Corporation

Minister responsible for Trade

Minister responsible for Mines

# Hon. David Joanasie, Government House Leader

Minister of Community and Government Services

#### Hon. John Main

Minister of Health

Minister responsible for Suicide Prevention

Minister responsible for Qulliq Energy Corporation

#### Hon. Margaret Nakashuk

Minister of Family Services

Minister responsible for Nunavut Arctic College

Minister responsible for Homelessness

Minister responsible for Status of Women

Minister responsible for Poverty Reduction

# Hon. Daniel Qavvik

Minister of Environment Minister responsible for Energy Minister of Culture and Heritage Minister responsible for Languages